This topic contains 0 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Arpit Raj Mall Arpit Raj Mall 2 months ago.

• Author
    Arpit Raj Mall Arpit Raj Mall 

I am a student of science and got 85% marks in class 12. My parents want me to make career in this field. But I like English literature a lot and want to make career in this field. What should I do?

• #4922 Reply
    Piyush Rai Piyush Rai 

Hey Sushant,

Congrats on scoring 85% in class 12th. You must have studied a lot and worked hard for your 12th score. Well I leave the decision of what to choose on you, but would like to highlight a few points:

• Don’t just ignore you parent’s decision, discuss this over with them, try to understand their expectations, analyze the Pros and Cons of selecting/rejecting science as your career option.
    • Explore the various possibilities/challenges that you might come across when you choose English Literature as a profession. Try to reach out to experts/seniors pursuing career in same. Get the insight of how things will be along this path and then see if this is what you expected. Because many a times it looks fancy from outside, but things do really change when you actually experience it.
    • Don’t just try to overpower your parents decision. Passion is one thing I totally agree to it, but the vision is equally important.  

At the end I would like to wish you best of luck! Choose wisely, discuss with some experts before you make a decision as this may change the entire course of your life and redefine you as a person.

You can checkout for experts here.

• #5526 Reply
    Anindita Shome Anindita Shome 

Hello Sushant ,

I would ask you to think of all your options and contraints, and then take a decision. If English literature is what you want to pursue, try to convince your parents about it. If they don’t agree, you can pursue science and may be study literature in your spare time, take up online courses, etc.

• #6296 Reply
    Olivia Das Olivia Das 

HI,